Is your bank account big enough for your game cravings?

Earlier this week we pre-ordered Gears of War 3. Interestingly enough this is the first time I’ve ever pre-ordered a game.  Matter of fact, this is the first “fresh off the shelf” game I’ve gotten… or am getting…  since Silent Hill Shattered Memories.

What’s enthralling is knowing we’re in the midst of a mass release of great games.  On the flip side, my soul is cringing at the thought of how my wallet will look post game purchase.  What’s a lady supposed to do in this situation?  I might need to take up a second job… *Cough*Freelancewriter*Cough*

My style is usually to buy a pre-owned game a good year plus after it’s release. That explains why I’m staggering my way through Oblivion just now!  I feel like I’m wearing last year’s fall fashion in video games.  Unhappy face!

Zombies, what are you doing to finance your video game cravings?  Are you buying?  Renting? Please share your tips!

As a reminder of the awesomeness that’s about to ensue, here’s a list of some of the games being released in the next couple of months:

Gears of War 3 (X360) ~ September 20th, 2011

RAGE (X360, PS3, PC, MAC, iPad) ~ October 4th, 2011

Batman: Arkham City (WiiU, PS3, PC, X360) ~ October 18th, 2011

Battlefield 3 (PC, X360, PC) ~ October 25th, 2011

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception (PS3) ~ November 1st, 2011

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (Wii, X360, PS3, PC) ~ November 8th, 2011

The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim (PC, PS3, X360) ~ November 11th, 2011

Super Mario Land 3D (3DS) ~ November 13th, 2011

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) ~ November 20th, 2011

Another shameless reminder!  This Saturday, remember to tune into MB Radio at 9:00pm (EST) as Armed Gamer and myself join the MB crew to pay tribute to those lost on 9/11 as well as discuss violence and sex in video games.  Call in during the show to share your thoughts or chat with us on the Gamer In Thought, Armed Gamer, and MB Radio Facebook pages.

On we game!

P.S. Sorry for the lull in witty commentary this post, zombies.  Lady ARod be tired!  I’ll make sure to double the wit next post.

About gamerinthought

To put it simply, I'm mother to the thoughts and ramblings found on Gamer In Thought, a child of Coleco Vision and NES, and the harbinger of all things awesome.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Scatter Brained and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. A lot of these are going on my Christmas list. The only ones I can say without a doubt that I’m buying when they come out are Batman: Arkham City and Uncharted 3.

  2. There is nothing wrong with buying a game a year or longer after it’s release! I recently bought Fallout 3 GOTY edition and got over $100 worth of gaming for under $20. I’m enjoying it just as much now as I would have then, with a far less substantial hit to my wallet. I also didn’t have to wait for patches to correct the technical glitches; they were installed as soon as I connected to XBOX Live. I know a lot of people who grabbed Dead Island as soon as it hit the shelves only to find they had just spent full price on a game that was rushed and unfinished. I know it’s hard to resist the human condition of instant gratification, but what good is it when that gratification is instantly followed by regret? If you aren’t enjoying Elder Scrolls now, you probably would have enjoyed it even less if you had paid $60 for it a few years ago. With the economy the way it is, I’ve learned to be patient and wait–the spoils can be much greater that way. *slowly closes the drawer to hide his Skyrim reserve*

    • You make an excellent point, Gregory, and I agree with you. As a (new) game blogger, knowing you can’t afford all these titles + the ones for 2012 can make ya feel dated. Then again, I still like to bust out the classics and there’s nothing wrong with that! :D

  3. It’s rare for me to pre-order a game, unless I absolutely know I’m going to get it no matter what the reviews say. Current case in point, Skyrim & Mass Effect 3. Most the time I either rent from Gamefly (which does keep up with the latest releases) or wait a few months until the price goes down or I can get a used copy.

  4. I’ve never pre-ordered a game and I can count on one hand the number of games I’ve brought out of the gate at full price. This probably also has alot to do with my “only on sales” nature and my lack of throwaway income at the moment. Considering most modern videogames are now 60$(or more if you count extra content or special editions or pre-ordering) it really has to be something that I already know I’ll love and I know I’ll get my money’s worth. If I spend alot on a videogame and I’m even the slightest bit not satisfied, It’s even worse as I’m disappointed I spent THAT MUCH on it. I think this is another good reason why games overall should lower their prices.

    • I completely hear you on that! Nothing’s worse than spending money on something you expected to be worth it, only to be let down. Horrible feeling!
      We were internet browsing for video games and found that Deus Ex is already down to $35. Insane! Two weeks out and is already being sold for almost half the price it was when it first came out. We’re still going to wait for it to go down a little more before we buy. We also know the next few months we’ll be preoccupied with other games.

  5. Wow 35$? Maybe reception wasn’t as good they thought it’d be? I know some games come down quicker than others, and rightfully so.

  6. The style that you write make it truly simple to read. And the theme you use, wow. It really is a really decent combination. And I am wondering whats the name of the template you use?

    • Thank you for stopping by! I hope my writing is simple. I try not to be too flowery with my language.

      I’m using the theme Mystique by digitalnature. It’s pretty awesome.

      Again, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

